Volunteer profile: Ally

Home > News > Volunteers > Volunteer profile: Ally

How long have you been volunteering for Children First Foundation?

I have been volunteering for Children First Foundation since the beginning of 2019. I first became aware of the Foundation after following Nima and Dawa’s story on TV.  I discovered that my Grandma had a friend who had a connection with the Foundation, I got in touch, and as they say the rest is history!

Ally with Koko and Ilona

Why did you choose to volunteer with Children First Foundation?

I’m hoping to study Medicine in the future and one day I would also love to do some humanitarian work in developing countries, so it was a no brainer for me to get involved with the Foundation. I was so impressed with the fantastic work they do and wanted to help in any way possible. I also love kids, so it was the perfect opportunity for me!

Tell us a little bit about your volunteering role at Children First Foundation…

I volunteer weekly at the Foundation’s Retreat. You will usually find me in the lounge room, often doing a puzzle with Ilona or playing a game. When it’s a nice day, I love getting the kids outside onto the playground or trampoline, going on walks around the grounds and getting some much- needed fresh air. I’m not the best cook, but I always help with lunch – thankfully putting pies in the oven is fairly foolproof!

What do you enjoy most about volunteering at Children First Foundation?

I love seeing the children flourish and thrive, both before and even more after their surgery and treatment. Seeing them grow, learn and just come out of their shells, is the most incredible thing and really makes it all worthwhile. I also LOVE getting amazing hugs!

Finally, I really enjoying being part of the Children First Foundation family Everyone is always so friendly and lovely, and I always feel so welcomed. It’s really like my second family and I love going up to The Retreat and seeing everyone each week.

Tell us a little bit about yourself…

I’m 21 and I live with my sister, dog and cat and my mum (when she is not with my dad who is overseas – my dad is a pilot and lives in Qatar in the Middle East). I just finished my undergraduate degree in Science, and I am in the process of applying to study Medicine next year.

Click here to find out more about volunteering with us.

Share

Read more news